Nick Moss, Tommy Castro Lead Blues Blast Music Award Nominees

Nick Moss, Tommy Castro Lead Blues Blast Music Award Nominees
June 21, 2010
Josh Hathaway

Nick Moss and Tommy Castro have tied to lead all nominees at the Blues Blast Music Awards, presented by Blues Blast Magazine, with three nominations a piece. A panel of blues writers, insiders, and experts have nominated artists, albums, and songs in eight categories and now its’ up to the magazine’s online subscribers to decide the winners. Voting is open to all Blues Blast subscribers and those subscriptions are free. The voting opens July 8 on Blues Blast Magazine's web site and continues until August 31.
Moss and Castro were each nominated for Best Contemporary Blues CD for their respective albums Privielged and Hard Believer. They were also each nominated as Best Blues Male Artist and were nominated with their bands The Flip Tops and Tommy Castro Band as Best Blues Band. Castro won Band Of The Year as well as Contemporary Album of The Year at the <a href="">Blues Music Awards</a> earlier this year in Memphis.
In addition to Moss and Castro, several other artists received multiple nominations. Kilborn Alley Blues Band was nominated for Best Blues Song, “Better Off Now,” which is from their Best Traditional Blues CD-nominated album of the same name. Joe Louis Walker won Album of the Year at the BMAs in May and his album Between A Rock & The Blues is nominated for Best Contemporary CD. “I’m Tide” was nominated for Song of the Year at the BMAs and it’s nominated here in the Best Blues Song category.
The 2010 Blues Blast Music Awards will be presented at Buddy Guys' Legends at its brand new home in Chicago on October 28. Tickets for the event go onsale in August.
Best Contemporary Blues CD
Joe Louis Walker - Between A Rock And the Blues
Mike Zito - Pearl River
Nick Moss - Privileged
Sean Costello - Sean's Blues
The Holmes Brothers - Feed My Soul
Tommy Castro - Hard Believer
Best Traditional Blues CD
Dave Riley & Bob Corritore - Lucky To Be Living
David Maxwell & Louisiana Red - You Got To Move
Eddie C. Campbell - Tear This World Up
Fiona Boyes - Blues Woman
The Kilborn Alley Blues Band - Better Off Now
Mississippi Heat - Let's Live It Up
Best Blues Song
Jackie Scott & The Housewreckers - “How Much Woman Can You Stand?”
Joe Louis Walker - “I'm Tide”
Mike Zito & Cyril Neville - “Pearl River”
Pete Anderson - “Still In Love”
Quintus McCormick - “Hey Jodie”
The Kilborn Alley Blues Band - “Better Off Now”
Best New Artist Debut Release
Alabama Mike - Day To Day
Jackie Scott & The Housewreckers - How Much Woman Can You Stand?
Marquise Knox - Man Child
Quintus McCormick - Hey Jodie
Shaun Murphy - Livin The Blues
Best Male Blues Artist
Bobby Rush
Joe Bonamassa
John Németh
Magic Slim
Nick Moss
Tommy Castro
Best Female Blues Artist
Candye Kane
Fiona Boyes
Janiva Magness
Ruthie Foster
Shemekia Copeland
Zora Young
Best Blues Band
Magic Slim & The Teardrops
Nick Moss & The Flip Tops
Rick Estrin & The Night Cats
The Holmes Brothers
The Mannish Boys
Tommy Castro Band
Sean Costello Rising Star Award
Cash Box Kings
Damon Fowler
The Insomniacs
Jackie Scott & The Housewreckers
Joanne Shaw Taylor
Marquise Knox

Read more:

Comments: 0